LafargeHolcim Awards for Sustainable Construction now Open for entries.

The LafargeHolcim Awards seeks leading projects of professionals as well as bold ideas from the Next Generation that combine sustainable construction solutions with architectural excellence.

The 6th cycle of the international competition is open for entries until February 25, 2020. The Awards offer a total of USD 2 million in prize money and foreground projects and concepts from architecture, engineering, urban planning, materials and construction technology, and related fields.

LafargeHolcim Awards main category

  • For exemplary sustainable construction projects at an advanced stage of design from architecture, engineering, urban planning, materials and construction technology, and related fields.
  • No age restriction for project authors.
  • Project must not have started construction/fabrication before January 1, 2019.

LafargeHolcim Awards Next Generation category

  • For visionary design concepts and bold ideas including design studio and research work.
  • Authors can be no older than 30 years of age (date of birth later than June 4, 1988).
  • Students and young professionals are welcome to enter the Awards main category with projects that have reached an advanced stage of design.

How to participate

Submitting entries in the competition is free and must be made in English using a web-based form to provide information on authorship, a project summary, statements on sustainability, CO2 lifecycle assessment (for main category) and other technical details, as well as project images and/or illustrations.

A “Step-by-step” guide explains the process in detail and shows how to prepare an entry at There is no limit to the number of projects an individual or team may enter.

Registration deadline is February 25, 2020 (14:00 hrs UTC/GMT).

Independent expert juries in five geographic regions of the world (Europe, North America, Latin America, Middle East Africa, and Asia Pacific) evaluate submissions using the comprehensive “target issues” for sustainable construction of the LafargeHolcim Foundation which covers progress, people, planet, prosperity and place . The juries will be hosted by an internationally renowned technical university to evaluate submissions in June/July 2020. The criteria covers innovation and transferability; ethical standards and social inclusion; resource and environmental performance; economic viability and compatibility; and contextual and aesthetic impact.

The LafargeHolcim Awards highlights each project’s contribution to solve a collective need and thus transform it into a collective desire.
– Alejandro Aravena, Partner Architect, Elemental, Chile
The LafargeHolcim Awards gives the project authors credibility and publicity; people begin to believe in them and that really helps them build career momentum.
– Brinda Somaya, Principal Architect, Somaya & Kalappa Consultants, India
The LafargeHolcim Awards offers the chance to ask the right questions about tomorrow’s construction – and to share the answers with a global audience.
– Marilyne Andersen, Professor of Sustainable Construction Technologies, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (EPFL Lausanne)

The competition promotes circular thinking and the reduction of CO2 emissions across all disciplines. It identifies the ideas with the highest potential to tackle today’s challenges to increasing urbanization and to improve quality of life.

Prize money

  • USD 2 million total prize money: USD 330,000 per region including USD 70 000 for Next Generation prizes.
  • Winners announced at hand-over events in September/ November 2020.
  • Global LafargeHolcim Awards in 2021 of USD 350,000 selected from winning projects of the regional competitions 2020.
Global LafargeHolcim Awards 2018 Global LafargeHolcim Awards Silver 2018 winners for Religious and secular complex, Dandaji, Niger (l-r): Iranian architect  Yasaman Esmaili and Nigerien architect Mariam Kamara at regional ceremony. Courtesy: LafargeHolcim

Since 2003, the LafargeHolcim Foundation advances the discourse on sustainable construction mainly through its Awards, the world’s most significant competition for sustainable design. The Foundation is an initiative of LafargeHolcim, the global leader in building materials and solutions.

To register and participate, click here.

Subscribe to stay updated on featured projects, design news and insights across Africa.

I have read and agree to the privacy policy